Skip to content

Do You Know The 3 (New) Distribution Categories on Medium?

  • 1 min read

There’s more than just the Boost to get seen and read.

If you want to get read, you need to get Boosted, right?

But wait!

There’s a method to the madness. If you hit publish, your stories land in one of these three categories:

  1. Boosted
  2. General Distribution
  3. Network Only

Yep, that’s it.

3 categories steer the fate of your storytelling

1 — Boosted = The VIP Lane

If they pick your story, it gets “Boosted” and is shown to a wider audience like it’s the belle of the ball.

2 — General Distribution = The Beating Heart

This is where most stories find their home.

Just good content finding its way to people who care.

3 — Network Only = The Cozy Nook

If your story falls under this category (e.g. this meta story about Medium), it means the distribution is limited to your network of followers and the publication, if you’re in one.

What do you think? Want to learn more?


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *